Baromedical Nurses Association (BNA) Updates

  • Laura Josefsen, RN, ACHRN
  • Volume 09 - Issue 3

Information compiled by Laura Josefsen, RN, ACHRN from the BNA Website:

Annette Gwilliam, president, continues to lead the Baromedical Nurses Association (BNA) to new heights and excitement. Kevin Kraft, vice president, is active in many projects of the board. Robin Ortega, as the administrative assistant and treasurer, also oversees the website This website provides an extensive amount of information, including membership, education (free CEUs for members, nominal fee for nonmembers), newsletters, BNACB updates, nursing guidelines, safety, certification, and contact information for all board members.

We are excited to have additional new members on the board for BNA and Baromedical Nursing Associate Certification Board (BNACB) that began July 1, 2018. They are bringing in new ideas and look at our practice with new eyes. How exciting!

The current board members are:

Annette Gwilliam President
Kevin Kraft Vice President
Laura Josefsen Secretary
Robin Ortega Administrative Assistant/Treasurer
Jolene Cormier Senior Director at Large
Dana Winn Junior Director at Large
Anthony Johnston Publication Chair
Connie Hutson Research Chair/Past President
Deb Critz Nominations Chair
Eric Hexdall Education Chair
John Duffy Membership Chair
Monica Skarban Bylaws Chair
Terry Beard Safety Chair
Tina Ziemba Awards Chair
Dave Beavers BNACB Chair
Deb Gonzales BNACB Committee
Angela Savage BNACB Committee
Bradley Walker UHMS Associates Nurse Representative
Gus Gustavson UHMS Past Nurse Representative
Janet Bello BNA Online Forum Monitor

We invite you to be involved on the BNA board by looking at the committees to find the one that’s for you. The committees provide mentoring and your ideas are encouraged. YOU can make a difference in hyperbaric nursing practice. For example, one area of focus at this time is research. The research committee under the direction of Connie Hutson along with Gus Gustavson is continuing to develop the nursing research process and ideas for evidencebased research in our practice.

The Publications Committee is new starting this year under the direction of Anthony Johnston and is responsible for reviewing and managing articles/papers published by the BNA. The online forum under the direction of Janet Bello is for nursing clinical questions that you may be wondering about. Deb Critz is the Nominations Chair. Please contact her if you are interested in running for a position on the board.

Board positions are for two years, with the Director at Large (DAL) positions being one year. Currently serving are Jolene Cormier and Dana Winn. The DAL positions are a great way to get experience on the board! Mentoring by current board members is provided. We are always excited when new people join!

The Education Committee under the direction of Eric Hexdall reviews the presentations and follows up with getting the CEUs for each presentation. John Duffy oversees the Membership Committee and works on ideas to increase membership. Monica Skarban monitors and keeps the bylaws current, Terry Beard provides safety mentoring and education on the website, and Tina Ziemba searches for qualified candidates for the awards, including the following:

  • Diane Norkool Award for excellence in hyperbaric nursing research, clinical practice and leadership, and
  • the new (2nd year) Circle of Excellence Award to honor a nominee who is not a member of the BNA but exemplifies extraordinary mentoring and/or professional support to promote the mission and vision of hyperbaric nursing, including but not limited to research, education or safety.

The BNACB members Dave Beavers, Angela Savage, and Deb Gonzales provide updates, regulations and guidelines for certification and recertification. There are three positions on this board, each for a 6-year commitment rotating various roles every two years. This is a very exciting board and works closely with Dick Clarke at the National Board of Diving and Hyperbaric Medical Technology (NBDHMT).

The UHMS nursing representatives (Bradley Walker and Gus Gustavson) provide updates from the UHMS Board of Directors.

This is the perfect time to become a member and to be active on the committees. We invite you to join the committee that is a perfect fit for you!

About the Author

LAURA JOSEFSEN, RN, ACHRN, has been involved in hyperbaric nursing since 1982. A founding member of the Baromedical Nurses Association (BNA) in 1985, she served as BNA president from 1996 to 1998 and as a board member in several positions throughout the years. She served on the Undersea and Hyperbaric Medical Society (UHMS) Associates Council for six years, with two of those years as Nurse Representative on the UHMS Board of Directors. She is a member of the UHMS Accreditation Team as a nurse surveyor, served for many years as an executive board member of the National Board of Diving and Hyperbaric Medical Technology and is a previous chairman of the BNA Certification Board. She is a member of the UHMS Associates, former member of Divers Alert Network, and former member of the Hyperbaric Technologists and Nurses Association (HTNA) of Australia. She has numerous publications and is an internationally recognized speaker in the field of hyperbaric medicine. Her passions are quality improvement and education to promote hyperbaric nursing, safety, and optimal standards of care and practice for patients and the community.

Hyperbaric Medicine

Contact Us

Best Publishing Company
631 US Highway 1, Suite 307
North Palm Beach, FL 33408

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Copyright © 2018 Best Publishing Company, a company of WCHMedia Group, Inc | All rights reserved
Find more information at